I still love you

True love

 

 

I still love you

Since the moment I set eyes on you, I knew we were meant for each other. As cliche as it might sound, I knew you were the one for me. I’won’t deceive you, I don’t believe in love at first sight. As a matter of fact, I was concerned of indulging another heartache by allowing you into my life.

The first time I set my eyes on you, I noticed something special about the way you looked at me. We both knew that you weren’t the only one interested in my attention, there were others just as interested as you were. The truth is that, it was you I wanted, I knew I would do whatever it took in order for us to end up together.

When I finally got to call you my own, our relationship grew day by day. I truly thought what we had would last forever. I lived a fairy tale where you and I ruled the world. As each day passed by, our bond grew stronger an bigger. You were my world, seeing you on a daily basis was my favorite thing to do.

I constantly found myself counting the hours on the clock, all that mattered to me was your love and attention. I can’t explain the feeling inside every time you saw me with those beautiful eyes. That profound look you gave me, the one that told me you were also waiting for me. It was then I figured out how much I love you. Yes, I still love you even though you belong to someone else now.

I truly never imagined our relationship ending, in my mind, what we had would last us the rest of our lives. How can I explain the feelings when ever we exercised together? The runs we constantly took as a team. The long road trips where you would simply listen to all my problems and frustrations.

What I loved most about you, was the fact that you were always there to listen without judging me. Even when you looked at me strange, I knew you only cared that I was alright. It’s really hard to think about you now, it breaks my heart that as hard as I tried to make it work, I was not able to keep you in my life.

I know I promised to always be there, yet it was a promise I couldn’t keep due to certain circumstances you will never understand. I hope you can forgive me one day an understand that I had to do it for the both of us.

I know you didn’t mean to break my heart, yet you did, not by choice, but because life wanted it that way. No matter where you go, I will always hold a special place for you in my heart. You brought me some of the happiest moments in my life and for that I say thank you. I only hope the next person, or whoever has you now, loves you as much as I do.

The last time I saw you, I told you that I was sorry, that I love you, that it was the best thing for the two of us. Albeit you didn’t seem to agree, it was for the greater good. If you are wondering if I think about you constantly, I do. I think I always will, whoever comes after you will simply have to understand that.

You were my Border Collie, you always will be, that will never change. You are truly man’s best friends. All the sheep herding and runs we took across the city will live in my heart forever. The bond between a man an his dog has no comparison. I know you are okay pooch, that’s all that matters.

2 thoughts on “I still love you

Leave a Reply

