Online dating

Online Dating Anyone?

I have to admit that I’ve been blind to the world of online dating. In a recent conversation with one of my close friends, I’ve come to realize that online dating is growing around the world more than I imagined. Prove of that are the people around me who actually use online dating sites to find dates, boyfriends, husbands and even occasional flings.

In a recent dinner with a girlfriend, my dear friend was telling me the story of a phenomenal date she had been on. I must admit, I was happy, thrilled and excited for my friend, until I asked where she had met the guy. “Well, I met him on Ok Cupid,” she said. I was confounded for about 10 seconds. I had no idea what Ok Cupid was, I had never heard of this website. Heck, the only sites I know about are Match.com and Eharmony since I see them every where I turn.

Back to my friend…

The guy she met was a big shot, great job, mature, expanded vocabulary, she proceeded to tell me he even quoted Ernest Hemingway. “Hemingway?” I asked, I almost spit my drink back out like they do in the movies for a dramatic effect. I didn’t go that far just in case you’re wondering.

Hemingway- “ A man can be destroyed but not defeated.” “All my life I’ve looked at words as though I were seeing them for the fist time.” In other words this guys was a real stud, an intellectual. The first thing I thought about was, “I wan’t to be like him when I grow up.”

To the point….

Mr. Intellectual provided my friend with one of the best dates she has ever be on. Yet a few days later, he vanished and was never seen again. I guess that might be normal, maybe he didn’t like her, yet he said he did. He offered to take her out again, even made plans for August. Yes, August! the thing is that he went missing. I suggested he put his picture on the milk carton, “Have you seen me?.” I told her that in my opinion as a man, I thought he was probably expecting to hit a ‘Home-Run’ but she didn’t follow. She didn’t want to believe that her prince charming would do such a thing.

Online dating…

I was on a mission to see what all the fuzz was about, I did what every journalist would do, I did my research and started asking questions. One of my friends told me she contemplated the idea, she had been warned to be able to distinguish match.com from Eharmony.com. She was told that match.com is basically a booty call website, while Eharmony.com is the real deal. I know a lot of you sneaky male friends are going to start looking in to this.

I continued digging and than I asked my self if I had ever done online dating……

Well, I’ve met a couple of friends through some of my friends online, this has led to several dates, some successful and some very awkward. Nevertheless I have made a few good friends from these experiences. The story I really want to tell you is about another form of dating that I did in the past. I really think this is where the whole online dating idea really emerged from.

I was in High School……

When one of my friends asked me if I had ever heard about ‘The Loop,’ it was a phone line where you could meet other teenagers. I wont lie, I got addicted and my friend and I would double date every weekend. The funny thing was that we didn’t know what the girls we were talking to really looked like, like a blind date kinda thing. You can imagine how that turned out, if you think pictures lie, try a very sexy voice over the phone.

“Welcome to the loop, please record your name or nick name!!”

Me: Hey, this is Michael (I wasn’t that dumb) hit me up sexy ladies…

Girls: Hey, you sound soooooooo cute! let’s chat..

You get the picture right? Yes, it didn’t go so well, after a few tries, I gave up and decided to stick to girls from my High School. Back to online dating.

I found out that I can find my single grandmother a boyfriend, the website is called, seniorpeoplemeet.com. If you guys have single grandparents, maybe you should set them up on a date. I also found another site that hooks single parents up. I was truly amazed at how much online dating has grown, this led me to an article that said that around 40 million people use online dating sites. Yikes! What have I been doing all this time? No wonder I don’t have a girlfriend, they’re all online. Duh!

Online dating is the reason why two of my friends relatives got married, they met their spouses on christianmingle.com. Even Christian people have a website where they get set up, if you are not content with the choices the Lord has provided you with in your church, you can go online to meet fellow Christians as well. When you really think about it, MySpace and FaceBook is also a form of online dating. You see someone on your friends list you find cute or attractive, they add you, or you add them, start talking and eventually go out. I know my ex co-worker/friend and my friend found each other on my FB page and all of a sudden were in a committed relationship, it happens. Don’t ask me how that ended up because I’ll say, “No comment.”

At the end of the day, the most important things I found out, was that Ok Cupid really exist. The idea that I can set my grandmother up with a future grandfather to my siblings and I, is also pretty nice. For all the girls looking to be taken care of, I also found you a site, all you Gold diggers can go on sugardaddy.com. It comes with great benefits and old men who would love to take care of you, if you know what I mean!

Thank you for following, feel free to share this on your social media site of preference. Just click on your icon and voila! That simple, see you next week or follow me on Twitter: @mlinares10

13 thoughts on “Online dating

  1. Great article! This online thing is HUGE! Whatever happened to just going up to someone that was cute and introducing yourself? I know times have changed and we live in a fast paced world, but technology is ruining some things that shouldn’t change. Also, some of these websites let anyone sign up without any sort of background check (I’m sure we’ve read the stories). It just seems to me that technology and these websites are contributing to the socially awkwardness generation that is in the making. Maybe I am old school, but the thrill of the “hunt” was always exciting. Now, you have a computer based matching system that pairs people. How is a computer going to tell me who I match up best with before talking to that person? The only way to find that out is by actually talking to a person face to face. Moi, keep up the good work. You write great articles and have great opinions. Some people might not agree with your opinion, but do not let them discourage you from voicing it. Keep freedom of speech alive!

    • Thanks my man, I completely agree with you. That itself might be a great topic, “The chase” hunting the opposite sex. Good idea, I might run with that on Monday!Times are changing but yet is always up to us to make the final choice. I personally still believe in introducing myself. I will definitely keep it up, just keep reading!

  2. Pingback: Vegas Love Stories » Blog Archive » Essential Online Dating Tips

  3. I tend not to drop a bunch of remarks, however I
    looked through a few comments here Online dating | everydaylifewithmo.
    I do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be only me or do some of these comments look as if they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you post a list of every one of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • Gale, I’m a little late but thank you for the comment. I’m actually working on a new online dating blog, so stay put. I’m a sports guy, most of the things you’ll find about me outside of Word Press, will be related to sports. @MoisesWZDC twitter.

Leave a Reply

